No Confusion

A 8 track world fusion album (53m 26s) — released July 6th 2016 on Funkiwala

Justin Thurgur has been at the heart of the UK's World Music scene for over twenty years, primarily through his collaborations with the Afrobeat maestro Dele Sosimi (former keyboardist for both Fela and Femi Kuti) and with the pianist Kishon Khan. Most recently in Khan's projects Lokkhi Terra and the Afrobeat/Cuban crossover, Cubafrobeat.

He is perhaps most known as the trombonist from the multi-award winning 'folk' group Bellowhead. Their split in 2016 led to him forming his own band and releasing his debut album as a bandleader, 'No Confusion'.

A defining feature of Thurgur's career has been a commitment to the idea of sharing and shared musical communication, breaking down borders and creating music that celebrates commonality.

'No Confusion' is Thurgur's first release under his own name and is a true representation of this ideal. It's a 'World' Jazz album that combines his early love for the jazz of Miles Davis, Wayne Shorter, Coltrane, Lee Morgan, et al with his own musical journey. That journey has seen Thurgur working with the cream of the world music community both in London and further afield. Alongside his work with Sosimi and Khan, Thurgur has worked with the likes of Nigerian drum legend Tony Allen, with Damon Albarn's Africa Express project; which included Cheick-Tidiane Seck and Fatoumata Diawara, with Cuban giants Giraldo Piloto, Julito Padron and Changuito, with Tony Kofi, Bukky Leo, Pandit Dinesh, Wara, Francis Fuster, Osvaldo Chacon, Baby Akhtar, Rob Fakir, The Soothsayers, Kodjovi Kush,The Selecter and The Levellers.

The album features:-

Justin Thurgur - Trombone

Kishon Khan - Piano, Rhodes and Hammond Organ

Max De Wardener - Double Bass (on tracks 1,2,6,7 and 8)

Jimmy Martinez - Baby Bass (on tracks 3,4 and 5)

Pat Illingworth - Drums (on tracks 2-8)

Leo Taylor - Drums (on track 1)

Oreste Noda - Congas

Javier Camillo - Bongos

Dave Pattmann - Shekere and Cowbell (on tracks 4,5 and 7)

Maurizio Ravalico - Shekere, Sistrum, Triangle and Shaker (on track 8)

Phil Dawson - Guitar

Tom Allan - Trumpet and Flugel Horn (on tracks 2,3,4,6,7 and 8)

Graeme Flowers - Trumpet (on tracks 1,4 and 5) and Flugel Horn solo (on track 4)

James Allsopp - Bass Clarinet

Rob Leake - Baritone Sax (on tracks 2,6,7 and 8) and Tenor Sax (on track 7)

Ben Somers - Baritone Sax (on track 4) and Tenor Sax (on tracks 2 and 4)

Eric Rohner - Tenor Sax (on track 6)

Tamar Osborn - Baritone Sax (on track 1)

Tracks 1,2 and 7 written by Justin Thurgur and Max De Wardener Tracks 3 and 5 written by Justin Thurgur and Kishon Khan Track 4 written by Kishon Khan Track 6 written by Justin Thurgur, Max De Wardener and Phil Dawson Track 8 written by Justin Thurgur, Max De Wardener and Kishon Khan

Mixed by Mauro Caccialanza at Hi Steet Studio

Mastered by Tim Debney at Fluid Mastering

Recorded by:

Justin Thurgur at Boneman Studios Philip Bagenal and Sam Navel at Eascote Studios Dan Ingall at Livingstone Studio (drums for tracks 2,6,7 and 8) Kishon Khan at Thank You Please Studio Phil Dawson at Pisaway Studio (guitar on track 6 and 7) Davide Salvetti at Hicaz Studio (guitar on track 1) Ofer Shabi at 'The Musician's House' (drums on track 1)

Produced by Justin Thurgur

Cover photo by Matt Thomas and album artwork/design by Julia Lowe (with insert photo by Joel Yigali)

“Border breaking communication.......deftly celebrates our commonality.” 4-star review - Jane Cornwell Evening Standard

Perfection does not exist, but with this album Justin Thurgur and his mates are coming dangerously close to it - Philippe de Cleen

Justin’s band lays down some great grooves that are infectiously danceable - John Morrow

  • Kudos happily ship all items worldwide.
  • Shipping costs and delivery times are available here.
  • UK items are sent tracked as standard at no extra cost.
  • We aim to dispatch orders placed before 2pm on the same day.
  • We are unable to ship orders on weekends or Bank Holidays.
  • If you purchase a pre-order item amongst an order of in-stock releases, we will typically hold your order until all items are in ready to send.
  • Although we use all reasonable means to ensure that your order is delivered within a specified time, we cannot accept any responsibility for late deliveries due to circumstances outside of our control. We will do our best to inform you of any unexpected delay.